Like every kid in the late 90’s and early 2000’s I was very much into the fad of Pokemon. I remember playing Pokemon Ruby for the first time, seeing a whole new dimension unfold. I turned on my Gameboy Advance SP for the first time after I plugged in the crimson cartridge and stared as the Gameboy logo flashed on the screen. I watched the intro sequence and created a new game for myself. It seemed like nothing at the time, but little did I know – I would be starting one of the biggest parts of my life.


So awhile ago, I was finally able to download a Gameboy emulator for my computer, and I am finally able to play Pokemon games once again. I’m starting on my Ruby game, and it is an amazing feeling to start fresh once again. Anyway, thinking about this brings back a concept I thought of awhile back. I was entering high school, at about 13 years old.
The concept started off with a young tween dreaming in the world of Pokemon. What if Pokemon was real? We can have animatronics built of plastic, being controlled by mechanical motors and robotics. I dreamt of a world where such ragged and explosive movement made by motors at the time would evolve into lifelike movements and actions. This technology would then be incorporated into building a Pokemon. Coders would design programs that would tell the motors to mimic the movements of an animal. These would be added in chips implanted all over the creature. We’d have artists design three-dimensional models of the Pokemon and make them out of plastic.
I’m just putting it out there for all engineers and coders in the world. Make it happen. Please.
Now back to lazing in my condo in Pasig, playing Pokemon Ruby. I just hope I don’t overplay, like I always do. I bet the next thing I’ll know is that it’s 3 in the morning, and I’m all alone in my Pasig condo.

About karapineda

A tourist forever everywhere.

Leave a comment