Recounting Disneyland (and Hong Kong)

A few years back, I had my first experience in the place where dreams come true – Disneyland. Staying at the Hilton hotel in LA, we were just a few minutes from the house of Mickey Mouse. I was ecstatic at the fact that I was going to see where it all happens. Where the magic happens. I was a kid back then, of course, and I recall taking my first steps past the large gate, holding my father’s hand.

Of course, everyone else was having their Disneyland moments too, so long queues were at every ride, filled with people waiting for their turn. The only ride worth waiting for was the “It’s a Small World” boat ride. We were in line for an hour before we got to jump on a boat and ride the river around the world. The sky was already darkening, and orange painted the sky when we were on a cab ride back to the hotel.

This year, I returned to the land of the young, but in Hong Kong now. I packed my bags in my condo in Pasig knowing that I’d be a kid once more – knowing that I’d be revisiting childhood. I couldn’t sleep the night before my flight because I was so excited. As dawn approached, I left my Pasig condo without a wink of sleep.

Fast forward all the airport shenanigans, I reached my hotel room as eager as one can be. I was tired, though. I had not slept a wink the night before, so as soon as I hopped onto the soft bed of my hotel room, my body shut down and I fell asleep. The next thing I knew, it was midnight. I fell asleep during the afternoon, and I hadn’t eaten dinner yet. I found a nearby McDo and discovered, to my surprise, the distinct difference of their menu and our menu. They had pasta in broth. Anyway, I’m digressing.

After I feasted on my midnight meal, I didn’t feel like going back to bed anymore, so I explored the Hong Kong nightlife. I found a quaint little cafe and ordered myself a latte to keep me up through the night. I didn’t need it, of course, but it was still good coffee.

I went back to the hotel room soon after. I rested some more and was jolted awake when I heard the buzz of the alarm clock that I had set before I slept. I was going to Disneyland. I quickly put on new clothes and left for the subway. Can I just say: the Hong Kong subway system is soooooooo nice. It’s much better than the one we have here in the Philippines. Everything is interconnected and it’s all safer and faster. There’s even a train to Disneyland!

Disneyland train!

When I arrived at Hong Kong Disneyland, everything felt surreal. I felt like an unguided little child, stepping towards the greatest place on Earth. I felt the same feeling I felt when I stepped into the Disneyland in California. This time, however, I wasn’t holding my dad’s hand. I was alone. And you what that means: single-rider.

The lines in Hong Kong Disneyland were long as well, but the benefit of being older and more mature is that you get to go to the express lane, or the single riders’ lane. It cuts the waiting time by at least half, and it gives you a free cut for long lines. Still, rides usually have 20 minutes worth of single rider line and an hour’s worth of normal waiting time, so it’s still worth it.

Toy Story Land!

When I went there, it rained half of the time I stayed, so it was kind of a bummer. Still I had the time of my life. Everything was so colorful and it brought me such nostalgic memories that made me feel like a child again.

It was an amazing day. (I’ll save the rides for another blog.) I was not disappointed and I enjoyed every single bit of it.

Oh gods. After recounting this experience from my condo in The Rochester, I really wish I was back in Disneyland!

 

About karapineda

A tourist forever everywhere.

Leave a Reply

